top of page

Food for Thought




As I go through this journey to a healthier me, I’m discovering the power of my thoughts. In previous posts, I’ve shared part of my experience with emotional eating. Taking that into consideration, it’s not enough for me to “get tired” and then change my eating habits.


Emotional eating is a real problem, but there is hope!


Prayer is more important to me than I realized during this weight loss journey. I have to meditate on scriptures such as “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).


I’ve also learned that I have to be intentional about the content that I allow my mind to consume in the process of changing my mind. Since I’ve had an unhealthy relationship with food, I now have to change the way that I think about food. In other words, I have to “be transformed by renewing my mind” (Romans 12:2). This principle is true for any type of behavior modification. Even once I know what to do, I need to continue to rehearse it until it’s real to me (renewing the mind). Once the mind is “made up”, the result of a change in actions will take place.


Now, none of this means that I won’t exercise anymore or make better choices when I eat (especially during a good day). It just means that I’m shifting from a pattern that focuses solely on behavioral change.





One way that I’m changing my relationship with food is by reading books and listening to podcasts and webinars that focus on healthy eating. I’m not doing all of this at once. That would be too much (I’ll still watch a few reruns of The Office lol). I’m just reading a book or attending a webinar as I come across them.


So, here’s what’s on my radar right now-


This week I’m “attending” the virtual Food Revolution Summit. I enjoyed the information from last year’s summit as well. It’s FREE and it’s still happening now. The replays from each day are available for 24 hours. There is a professional medical community that understands the power of food. That’s one of the many aspects of this summit that I enjoy.


I recently listened to the podcast In the Light with Dr. Anita Philips. The episode,” Comfort Food” was so rich-which is no surprise since most comfort food is rich in flavor and calories. This episode addresses the way we connect with food, body image, and more.

There was a great session from the Food Revolution Summit with Susan Peirce Thompson, Ph.D. that was similar to this episode as well. In both of these recordings, listeners were encouraged to be kind to the body and to release the pressure to be fit.


Lastly, a few months ago I started reading Ageless Vegan: The Secret to Living a Long and Healthy Plant-Based Life by mother-daughter duo Mary McQuirter and Tracye McQuirter. I’m picking it back up again. I don’t plan to follow a strictly vegan dietary lifestyle, but I appreciate and respect many of the principles of plant-based eating. This book is a reminder for me about my healthy eating goals. It reinforces a better mindset regarding food.


Let me know if there are any health books that you’re reading right now too. You can leave a comment on the "Food for Thought" Instagram post or let me know on Twitter @ToriUnscripted.


If you’ve been struggling with emotional eating, know that I’m praying with you. There is hope.


It is so important to seek the guidance of a medical professional as well as you deal with various health challenges.


Whatever change you’re trying to make, just remember to take it one thought at a time. Your decisions will catch up with your mind.


Here’s to a brighter tomorrow,


Tori


P.S.


Did you know that I have a podcast called The Unscripted Blend? Check it out here or you can find it on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, iHeartRadio, Audible, and Amazon Music. Feel free to subscribe to the podcast on those platforms too. :-)





16 views0 comments
bottom of page