top of page

What Are You Craving?

Updated: Jun 23, 2021






What are you craving and why? Emotional eating is something that many people do. It’s almost wired into every culture. A time of celebration- let’s eat. A time of mourning- more eating. While some people have more balance when it comes to food, some of us out there struggle a little bit more.


If you’ve been keeping up with me then you know that my weight loss journey has been filled with highs and lows. The low moments are always connected to poor choices linked to emotional eating.


The last time I broke one of my healthy streaks, I asked myself why? Why did I eat all of the junk that I just ate? I realized that I felt a certain level of anxiety and I felt overwhelmed by various responsibilities and upcoming deadlines. The next question that I asked myself was this- Am I satisfied? Did indulging in that craving for comfort food truly satisfy me? Did eating that food now resolve all of the items on my to-do list which led to the anxious and unsettled feelings? The answer was no. Yes, I felt temporarily relieved as I indulged in pizza and wings, but in the long run-I wasn’t truly satisfied. Discipline with food takes practice. It won’t come overnight, but I have found moving forward that pausing for a moment of reflection can help in the battle with stress-related food cravings.


The next time you’re faced with those pesky food cravings I challenge you to try this too:


Stop.

Reflect. Ask yourself what’s the underlying emotion driving your craving.

Heal. Take some time toward healing the emotion(s) that are driving you to seek comfort from food. Take a moment and meditate on your favorite scripture. Say a brief prayer. Invite God into this. He’s ready and willing to help us through it all.


“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”. - Philippians 4:7 ESV


I can do this. You can do this. We can do this.


By the way, you can check out my last Wellness Check vlog on YouTube now: Wellness Check Vlog 10


Love & Light,


Tori


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page